Flight Simulator Update

It’s been a while since I posted any updates on the flight simulator, but I’ve been too busy with other things the last few months. Despite this, its current state is that my Great Planes transmitter joystick can now control the plane which flies, but using a simplified wing model which I’m not keen on releasing until I’m happy with how it flies. I’ll publish some more details on the flight controller later, as it’s basically an old analogue PC joystick that was designed to work though a computer’s gameport, but is now plugged into a USB converter.

I wanted to get my RS352 model into the simulator before going any further as the Gloster Gladiator is just an untextured grey model. I had already done most of the work in Sketchup, drawing around the photos to create an accurate model, so the next step was to figure out how to get the model into three.js. Sketchup has a Collada export function (.dae), but the model needs some additional work, so I had to import the model into Blender first. The results are shown below:

The RS352 model imported into Blender from a Sketchup Collada export

The RS352 model imported into Blender from a Sketchup Collada export


The textures are still on the model, but I’m having some trouble getting the export from Blender to Collada to load the textures into the flight simulator:

Blender's texture render of the RS352

Blender’s texture render of the RS352

I don’t know why Blender creates such a grainy render, but that’s all I can get out of it at the moment. It’s not like 3DS Max, which is much more intuitive to use by comparison.

Here are the flying shots of the untextured RS352 flying around the chessboard cube World:

The RS352 on a flypast through a 1980s computer game

The RS352 on a flypast through a 1980s computer game

Another shot of the RS352 in an audition for Tron 2015

Another shot of the RS352 in an audition for TRON 2015

 

It’s actually incredibly difficult to use the screenshot software on the Gnome desktop in Fedora 19 as I have to fly with the controller on my lap and try to click the mouse button to take the screenshot with my other hand. I really must find an application that works from a key combination.

So that’s it for now. I need to get the textures on the aircraft (and other objects), then get the flight model back up to scratch with something that reads the digitised wing polars from a real aerofoil test. I’m using the coefficient of lift Cl = 3.45*(Alpha-0.25) at the moment which isn’t good.

And then I’m thinking of fractal trees to make it look really weird…

Leave a Reply

