Running, Mist and Serious Building

No flying this week as all the roads are closed due to a running event. I’m not sure I would have been able to go anyway, because it has been very misty all day.

Anyway, yesterday we were filming the build of an F450 quadcopter:

The F450 frame, ESCs and motors

The F450 frame, ESCs and motors, plus a lot of other bits

It’s amazing just how much stuff you need to build a quadcopter. Normally, I can just dip into my cupboards full of tools and test gear, but this time I had to take it all with me in a rucksack. Just look how much stuff I packed into it:

The contents of a quadcopter building rucksack

The contents of my rucksack

So, after the F450 came the 250 size quad that I’m also building. I spent all of the evening soldering power wires onto the wiring loom in preparation for soldering the motors to the ESCs. This needs the power to be connected and the radio working, but I’m not quite at that stage yet. I’ve also been trying to create time-lapse movies of the build sequence, but the app on my Nexus 4 phone keeps crashing, so you only get to see me as far as the first ESC connection.

Never underestimate the amount of wiring in a quadcopter

Never underestimate the amount of wiring in a quadcopter

As this is an ‘X’ frame rather than an ‘H’, the wiring is really dense. I’m also hoping to glue the tail onto my autogyro later, but at the moment I desperately need to get the quadcopter working, so that has to come first.

It’s already evening and I’ve still got so much to do…

Leave a Reply

