Congratulations, It’s a Spider

I’ve been working on another project today, so no flying this week.

The DJI F450 quadcopter after a day's building

The DJI F450 quadcopter after a day’s building

As you can probably see, it’s a DJI F450 quadcopter that we’ve been building today. The idea was to film the build as a time lapse, rather like we did with the frame last Saturday (see previous post). We built the frame in about 40 minutes flat last week as we were running out of time, but this week we had a professional camera and somebody who actually knew how to film things properly. I’m hopeless with cameras, so I’ll just stick to what I know, building and flying things. Anyway, we disassembled the frame and did it all again, except that this time we mounted the flight controller, GPS, radio, U/C legs, telemetry and Fat Shark FPV kit. Hopefully the shots we got will look very good, as last week’s test with a GoPro Hero 4 Session camera wasn’t too bad.

I’m a bit disappointed that we didn’t get to switch anything on and make it work, but I really need to sit down with the Mini-Hawk flight controller manual and make sure that I’ve stuck all the right bits in all the right holes before I switch it on and blow everything up. Their quick start guide really doesn’t make it obvious where everything goes and you need to read it in conjunction with 3D Robotics’ PixHawk manual as the hardware is the same, except for being in a smaller physical package. All the connectors are the same, but the Mini Hawk just has rows of pins front and back which the connectors plug into. Once we’ve got it all figured out and working, there is going to be a follow-up post with the details and some filmed segments showing how to do it.

OK, so I said there was no flying this week, but I should probably confess to flying my HubSan Q4 around the office just to show the F450 how it’s done.

That’s it, I’m now off to try and make the other quadcopter work, which is a 250 sized one. I was hoping to have it working for the filming today, but discovered late on Saturday that one of the motors wasn’t working and didn’t have a replacement. Sadly, until this is flying, I’m going to have to put the Autogyro on hold for a week or two. I really desperately want to fly the autogyro, especially as a new plan has just come out in the latest issue of RCM&E – The Cruiser.

Leave a Reply

