Red Autogyro, Blue Autogyro

I’m a bit late this week as I’ve spent the day covering my ATOM Autogyro. There’s no flying this week as yesterday it was blowing a gale and this morning isn’t much better. It’s taken me a long time to get to the covering stage as it’s just been so hot recently that I couldn’t bring myself to plug the covering iron in.

As you can see, it’s taken me a long time to get this far and I’m not quite there yet. Normally you cover the bottom of the aircraft and it’s a nice and easy way to start, doing something that isn’t terribly visible and is square and flat. Not with this fuselage. I hadn’t realised how many compound curves there are to go around on the bottom. The sides were a piece of cake by comparison. It seems you never lose the knack for solar filming though, even after you realise that the blue metal flake film is partially transparent and is going to magnify every tiny little mistake. If you look at the tail closely, I’m disappointed at how visible the joins are. I was covering it using up my very last scraps of old (20+ years old) film and ran out on the top horizontal stabiliser surface. You can see the overlap where I’ve had to join three pieces together in a funny position. Oh, well, I’ll just have to get creative with the trim graphics. I still haven’t decided what colour to do the fin end plates or the blades, but that can wait for a bit. What worried me a little when I was covering the fuselage is just how top heavy it is. I’ve never covered anything like this before and it was so difficult to hang on to the thing as I was smoothing out the film as it kept trying to twist out of my hands. There’s just nothing to hang on to or rest flat on the work surface.

OK, so that’s the autogyro, but I’ve actually spent most evenings this week working on the quadcopter simulator. I’ve had a play around with a control system that could be used for automatic navigation. In the simulator I could just tell it to head in a particular direction at a certain speed and height and the controller would just get on with it. I was thinking that I could try out some of the synchronised manoeuvres that I’ve seen the GRASP Lab at Penn University put up on the Internet. I’m thinking of simulating it first as I’m currently lacking a vision system, but it would be interesting to explore what’s possible with some of the cheap hardware that’s around. In addition to this, I’ve been improving how the quadcopter flies in the simulator. It’s well worth having a look at the MultiWii rewrite controller in the Cleanflight code to see how it’s done on a real aircraft, but there are some subtle differences between that and how it’s done in a flight simulator. It’s all very interesting once you get into it and it’s making me think about whether I could construct something novel out of all this automatic control theory.

Leave a Reply

