Weather’s OK, Roads are Closed

We didn’t think they were going to run the Duothon event this year, but all the roads are closed this morning, so getting to the flying field would have involved a long hike. I haven’t seen this advertised anywhere, so it came as a bit of a shock.

Anyway, I guess I should be finishing off the AutoGyro? This week I’ve been playing around trying to get my Taranis transmitter to work as a joystick with Windows 10. When you connect it via the USB it installs the Taranis driver perfectly, the calibration was spot on, then I tried using it with the Unity simulator and discovered that Unity’s InputManager is broken. They don’t read the calibration data properly so the Taranis won’t work with any program written using this package. I’m going to write my own InputManager utility for Unity to get around this problem. What I really want to know is how the simulator feels to fly with a proper joystick rather than a gamepad where I can feel the slop in the sticks and the huge deadband.

OK, only virtual flying until next week when, hopefully, the weather will be good again. The Sun’s just come out and it’s looking like perfect weather now just to annoy me.

Leave a Reply

