A New Thing Spreads Its Wings

It’s blowing an absolute gale this week, so I’m still grounded. That’s probably a good thing, though, as it’s the drone masterclass next week and I’m snowed under with work.

Earlier in the week I got a new 3D printed quadcopter frame to fly. It’s a very strange and mysterious creature from the early Jurassic. Can you guess what it is?

OK, it’s the Dimorphodon model. When I was filming the first flight, it was a bit dark and I looked back at the flight video and saw that the shadow it cast on the wall looked just like the fossil picture I was copying it from. So, afterwards, I got a desk lamp and hung the model on a piece of wire so it cast a shadow. Following a tricky bit of juggling with the Dimorphodon on a wire, swinging around in front of the lamp while I tried to work the camera one handed, I got the photos above. If you look at the pictures, the wire it’s hanging from is obvious, but it does look like a fossil.

We decided to go back to the model with the wings spread out full span, rather than the folded wing model that I showed a couple of weeks ago. I’m really pleased with that decision as the results are fantastic. I’ve always wanted my own flying pterosaur ever since I saw the one in the movie “War Games”. Of course, a bigger, gliding, version would be better, but a micro quadcopter will have to do. These images show what it really looks like:

And, yes, the head is held on by foam tape, but it’s all I had and I was in a hurry to film it flying. I think the flying videos are going to have to wait until next week.

That’s it for now, I’ve got an aero turtle to make…

Leave a Reply

