Too Darn Hot

IMG_20170618_113332.jpg

 

The picture doesn’t do it justice. It’s at least 30 degrees in the shade and probably more like 40 out in the open. I managed to beat the weather, though, and got six flights of the RS352 this morning and one flight with somebody else’s UMX Carbon Cub.

There was me, the UMX Carbon Cub and a guy with his son who had a slightly off trim high wing pylon racing type. I’d seen this model fly a few weeks ago and it went really well then, but has since had a bit of a coming together with the ground. He said it was rolling left quite badly and it did look as though the tail was now out of line. I don’t know whether this is a commercial model or an own design, but it was sorted out and flying again quite quickly. I had my first flight with the Carbon Cub, then flew the RS352 for the rest of the morning trying to get it trimmed out again as this was one of the very rare days with no wind. I say no wind, but when a bit of a breeze did blow up it was very welcome. I nearly crashed the RS352 into the ground at one point which was down to pilot error. I think the heat must have been getting to me as I got the harmonisation between the rudder and aileron wrong and nearly put it into the ground. At low level I rolled into knife edge, messed up the coordination with the rudder input, decided to abort and only just about levelled off and pulled away from the ground. Don’t do that again…

We also had the guy with the FPV wing from a few weeks ago, but this time he was flying a Yuneec hexcopter with RealSense collision avoidance.

IMG_20170618_111123.jpg

 

He demonstrated the “follow me” and collision avoidance functions, plus the “wand” controller which allows you to fly it without the radio transmitter. We had an interesting discussion about mapping with drones, point cloud cameras and time of flight Lidars, but I still say that flying a little Carbon Cub is a lot more fun than a computerised drone.

After they left we had a family turn up with a high wing foam cub (it might have been the Multiplex one) and another UMX Carbon Cub. He proceeded to teach his young daughter how to fly the UMX Cub, which she did really well. Then he had a flight with the bigger one and ended up losing one of the wheels while in the air. I was flying at the time, so could only look around quickly and estimate roughly where the aircraft was when he cried out, “my wheel’s just come off”. I was landing then anyway and went over to the spot with his wife and kids while he was still in the air. I got the position just about right, but his wife found the wheel before me as it was lying on the edge of the path.

That was two and a half hours in an oven, so at this point I was glad to be going home. I know I still haven’t finished the autogyro, but it’s been too darn hot this week. All I need to do is to epoxy the rudder link stops, velcro the battery, find some bolts for the rotors, check the controls and do a hang test for balance. It really should fly soon.

Leave a Reply

