Daisies

IMG_20170806_101634.jpg

 

The wind forecast for this weekend was 8mph and I really wanted to test the autogyro again, but I only had the bike this week. As it turned out, the wind was much stronger than expected, at least for the times when I was flying. It seemed to go calm as soon as I touched down.

Try as I might, I just could not figure out a way of getting the autogyro onto the bike in any way that would see me get it to the field in one piece. I thought I could do it by unscrewing the saddle clamps and removing the wire undercarriage, but that still leaves the mast and tail. In the end I had to accept that it was too big and take the mini flying wing in its purpose bought ruck-sack. At least, that is to say that I bought the ruck-sack and designed the flying wing to fit in it.

When I arrived at the field this morning, the first thing I noticed was that it was full of daisies. I’m not that good on flowers, but there were thousands of little yellow flowers everywhere all of a sudden. You can see what I mean in the picture. The second thing I noticed were two people with drones, standing at either end of the field and me in the middle. They obviously didn’t want to talk to each other, or to me, so that’s fine. One of them seemed to be flying FPV like a complete nutter anyway.

Very soon after I arrived, a guy I’ve known for a long time turned up with his son, an F18 and an SU27. Both were made out of depron, but the SU27 was a very light profile model. The F18 had notably better performance, very fast and able to climb vertically in a sustained manner. That’s not to say that the SU27 was a lot slower, but it was lighter, less powerful and had a very draggy airframe by comparison.

IMG_20170806_111437.jpg

 

When I did finally get around to putting my wing together, I had the usual problem of trying to figure out where to put the battery to make it balance (NOTE: mark it inside the fuselage this time). I think the combination of wind and slightly rearward C of G lead to a very interesting first flight as it was best described as skittish. I was a bit worried that the motor shaft was bent from the last outing, but this wasn’t evident. My nerves were really on edge after the first 10 minute flight, but I still went up a second time and had another 10 minute flight with the C of G a bit forward, which was a bit less on the ragged edge. The glide isn’t too bad, but there didn’t seem to be any big thermals around, despite my trying to sit under a big, threatening looking, black cloud which was blocking out the sun.

Two flights is usually about all I can manage with this aircraft, before I decide not to push my luck any further. Maybe I’ll try making some modifications to improve the performance, because it’s been a bit of a work in progress for the last 10 years or so? We had an interesting discussion about LiPos puffing up and storage charging while we were comparing the eBay LiPos in the F18 to my Hyperion ones. Apparently, it’s supposed to be 43% with a balance charger, not the 80% I’ve been storing mine at. After the mini wing’s flight, we had a look at the remaining capacity of my 3S 1100mAh pack with a battery checker and it reported one of the cells as 0.5V! Although it looked like a different version of my own battery checker, which I left at home, this obviously couldn’t be right. Either that, or one of my cells is dead. It turns out that not all battery checkers are equal, as all cells from both the packs I used this morning checked out at between 3.6V and 3.8V, so they’re fine. This is what I suspect about the puffing up problem, though. I think the balancers can measure the cell voltages wrong due to bad connections, thus over charging the LiPos which are then stored for a week, or several weeks if I’m really unlucky with the weather.

As I was going home the couple with a Mavic and a pop out landing circle arrived. They also set up about 20 metres away, so obviously didn’t want to talk to us.

OK, so I’m off to put the wheels back on my autogyro and see if it’s windy enough in the back garden to get the rotors running fast enough to feel them lifting. Let’s hope next weekend is sunny and calm.

Leave a Reply

