First Flight: The Autogyro Flies

 

I flew the autogyro! I don’t care about anything else at the moment, I finally flew my own autogyro. As an added bonus, I also managed to catch the flight on my RunCam. I honestly thought I was gyronauting for at least 30 seconds, but the video says it was only 10. It must be down to the number of control inputs I was having to put in, because this was one first flight which didn’t exactly go to plan. To begin at the beginning, I put bigger wheels on the Atom to increase my ground clearance and hopefully help the ground run build up rotor head speed. You can see the big foam tyres in the pictures. I must have spent the best part of an hour running along the ground with it doing exactly the same thing every time. There’s lots of video of that too so I can analyse it later. The aircraft runs straight initially, then veers off to the left as soon as the head gets to a certain speed. I tried altering the head angle (aileron) and rudder to counteract this, but to no avail. If I did get up enough ground speed for the head to spin fast enough to lift, then what would happen is that the right wheel and tail would lift, but the left wheel refused to unstick. I got very proficient at careering along the ground on just the left wheel and dragging the left fin, before crashing into the grass at the left edge of the runway. I just couldn’t get it to track straight and really need a fatter section of flat grass to take off from. The wind wasn’t helping either, because it was very thermic and the wind was from all directions during the morning, but never much more than about 5mph.

To cut a long story short, I hand launched it. One of the guys flying DLG had come over and suggested hand launching, but I was very reluctant, unless I could see the rotor spinning up to speed first. This is where I now owe the weather a favour. While I was discussing the YouTube video I had seen on how to hand launch an autogyro, the wind picked up, the rotor spun up to speed and I just looked at him and said, “that’s it”. With the autogyro’s nose pointing vertical, the rotors were spinning furiously in the wind, I did a control check, rotated it smoothly to horizontal and pushed it forwards. It flew. Well, I say it flew, for the next 10 seconds I had the sticks in all four corners in order to avert was was increasingly looking like a crash. I think my helicopter flying skills kicked in at this point, because that’s what I was doing, watching the rotor head, keeping away from the ground and trying to stay flat and nose down. Needless to say, the head was too far back and it was flying on a stall. Everybody thought it was going to crash, but I’m able to walk away with 10 seconds of autogyro flight, an undamaged aircraft and a lot more knowledge about autogyros. I can’t wait for next time.

Autogyros aside, it was a very eventful morning for other reasons, not least of which because the weather was perfect and there were more people and aircraft than I’ve seen in a long time. There were already three guys flying DLG exceptionally well when I arrived and another with an own design trainer using the path as a runway. Then the guy from last week arrived with his F15, bringing along his daughter this time. I got to launch the F15 on its first flight. Somebody was flying a drone (noisily) over by the river. My first flight of the day actually came from the guy who brought a UMX Spacewalker over on his bike. The Atom was actually my second maiden flight of the day as another guy I see a lot had a brand new Bixler. I flew his Hurricane a few months back, and he was going to fly this himself, but then we got into, “I can stand next to you while you fly if you want… can you launch it for me… why don’t I just give you the transmitter and you fly it?”. So I flew it for him, which was probably a very good thing. I noticed on the ground that there wasn’t much aileron movement and it really did need more in the air. Luckily the rudder worked OK. I had to check the rate of ascent from the launch, as it wanted to go vertical, then it was rolling left badly, so ended up putting in lots of right aileron trim. I was fairly happy with it flying more or less level by this point, but it was sluggish and really wouldn’t turn right. I was holding in full right aileron and nothing was happening. I kept increasing right aileron trim, which did help, but it needed more movement. Landing was interesting, as I lined it up to run past in front of us, I realised I needed to correct to the right, nothing happened and I elected to add power to go directly over our heads and go round again. The landing on the next circuit was perfect. The owner then added more movement, I took it up again and handed it over to him. It flew perfectly after that and he had a few more flights on his own. I was really impressed at how well it would glide. Although I called it a “Bixler” earlier, it might have been one of the other clone versions, but basically, it was a Multiplex Easy Star type.

We had two more arrivals in the form of the guy who flew the Witch drone at Halloween last year, who was flying a Mavic. The other was a guy I’ve known for ages, who usually has a Stryker, but this time had a UMX A10. He broke something on the first launch and had to tape it back together, but his one and only flight after that was very impressive. The Mavic had a go at filming my adventures with the Atom, but I think the only footage he would have got was me crashing into the grass at the side of the runway. There were at least two other people flying drones by lunchtime as well, so there was so much activity this morning I couldn’t keep track.

After messing around with the Atom almost all morning, I also had two very quick flights with my RS352, swapping LiPos and going back up without even switching off the transmitter. The time on my transmitter display shows 50 minutes this morning, most of which was with the Atom. So, just to recap, the planes I’ve flown this morning are: UMX Spacewalker, Bixler (Maiden), Atom (Maiden) and RS352.

Anyway, I’ve got about an hour of autogyro video to analyse before my next flight.

 

Leave a Reply

